A Letter from Rodney & Rashon

Greetings from Georgia! We are Rodney and Rashon, a loving couple that enjoys having fun, traveling to new places, trying new things, and creating memories with one another and those close to us. We are both originally from Michigan. Rodney is a detective and Rashon is a pediatric nurse and clinical nurse informaticist. We enjoy sharing stories about our days when we return home from work. As first responders, we have a natural and mutual respect for one another that makes our love and bond stronger. We have been married for 8 years and share a beautiful home together. We are excited to grow our family and raise a child together through adoption.

Call or Text us
Learn More

The Story of Us (told by Rashon)

We met in Atlanta, Georgia at an odd encounter. We started talking and realized we were from the same hometown. The rest is history; I believe it was fate. We turned like into love, love into a relationship, and then into marriage. We want to adopt to grow our family; we are not able to have children biologically. Adoption resonates with who we are and aligns with our values and morals.

We love life and love to laugh! In our free time, we enjoy attending concerts, sports events, galas, fundraising events, Broadway plays and musicals. On occasion we will plan trips to other states to attend these things. We love to travel to new destinations near and far. On dates, we enjoy axe-throwing, bowling, laser tag, miniature golf, dinner and a movie, escape rooms, etc. One of our favorites is going to a “Paint and Sip.” Neither one of us can draw, but it’s a good time and a great way to spend quality time and connect on a different level. Georgia has a lot of attractions. We might see a commercial for something and we will look at each other and say, “Let’s go do that”. We enjoy making memories together! Our careers are very structured so we flock to fun activities where we can laugh and have a good time.

Meet Rashon

In high school I was in the Music Curriculum. Music has always been a part of my life. In college I developed a love for Pediatrics and knew I wanted to be a Pediatric Nurse. Taking care of kids, or as I call them “Tiny Humans”, was truly my calling. It resonates with who I am as a person. I am compassionate, nurturing, caring, and understanding. I started working as a Clinical Informaticist at my organization that combines my love of technology and nursing. This position allows me to work from home 98% of the time, which provides true work/life balance I did not have previously. I truly love what I do!

In my spare time, I enjoy watching sports, going to sports events, traveling, local attractions, and dancing. I used to teach Urban Ballroom and Line Dance. I hope to get back to teaching dance in the near future. I love trying new things and going new places. I am unable to have children biologically, and adoption is the best option on my journey to motherhood. I want to instill my love of music, education, and compassion into a child that I can raise and help grow into a beautiful human.

Meet Rodney

While enrolled in college, I joined the police academy and started working as a police officer. Little did I know my job would turn into a career. After being a police officer for a few years, I became a Detective in the Criminal Division Unit. I have been a detective for 12 years and am working toward making Sergeant this year.

I have a 15-year-old son from a previous relationship who lives with us. His mother and I share custody of him. I want to raise a child with my wife through adoption, and I know we will be great parents together. We are excited to grow our family!

In my spare time, I love watching all sports, attending sports events, physical fitness, and spending time with family and friends. I enjoy giving back to my community through service events. I am also a homebody; I love relaxing at home. I enjoy grilling and trying new grill recipes. I look forward to giving a child all the experiences I had to expose them to the world and make them well rounded. I plan on exposing them to local, regional, and national exhibits, cultures, and experiences. I will instill the importance of education and provide guidance needed to succeed in life.

Our Family

We share our home with Rodney’s son, Rodney Jr (15), and our 2 dogs (Susie and Tre). Our dogs are great with children and enjoy belly rubs and snuggling. Rodney Jr is in high school and enjoys football and all things that involve technology, especially video games. His favorite subject is Introduction to Healthcare. He can teach children everything about computers and technology. He is very helpful around the home.

Our home is full of laughs and love. Both of us are from Detroit and our families still live there. We see them about 1-3 times a year. They will come visit us and we will make trips to them, and take family trips to various destinations. We plan gift exchanges for Christmas and rotate where the holidays will be spent. We enjoy hosting family at our home, and they all know they are welcome anytime. Our family has always been very supportive and are excited about us adopting.

Our Home and Community in Georgia

Welcome to our home! We live in a beautiful, quiet, and gated community that we love. Our house is a two story, 5-bedroom home. We have an open floor plan downstairs with beautiful natural light and hardwood floors. We have plenty of space in our home. The backyard is very large and fenced, providing an outdoor space for our dogs to run around. We have an extended patio. We enjoy quiet nights in the backyard sitting under the patio heater or around the firepit table with friends and family. Rashon refers to the patio as her “backyard oasis”.

Our subdivision has a club house that hosts events for our community, a playground, a swimming pool, tennis courts, and a beautiful lake in the middle of the subdivision. We love taking walks around the neighborhood. We also have access to the golf club across from our community. We are located minutes from downtown where there are various restaurants, boutiques, parks, an amphitheater, and a community center that hosts various events. We are located about 30 minutes outside of Atlanta, but we have access to everything we need here. This area is steadily expanding to build other attractions. We are conveniently located to the local hospital, fire department, and police station that are all within 1 mile of our home.

Our Promise to You

It is our promise that we will love this child and raise this child in a home filled with love, laughter, support, and stability. We share the same morals, values, and beliefs and will raise a child with the same standards we were raise on and have set for ourselves. We are very open minded and ready to embrace the child we are blessed with. We will be open about the adoption journey with your child and help them understand that all families are made differently, but the love is the same. We promise to love your child with our whole hearts for our whole lives. We have plenty of room in our lives and our hearts! We look forward to learning more about you and answering any additional questions you may have. We’d love to talk or set up a video chat. Please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

…For This Child We Have Prayed 1 Samuel 1:27

Learn More About Rodney & Rashon

  Rodney Rashon
Our EducationMaster of Science in Criminal JusticeMaster of Science in Information Technology/Health Informatics
Our ProfessionsDetectivePediatric Nurse/Clinical Informaticist
Stay-At-HomeNoNo, but I work from home
Our Racial BackgroundAfrican AmericanAfrican American and American Indian
Some of Rodney & Rashon's Favorites
MovieRemember the TitansTitanic
FoodHawaiian PizzaTacos
TV Show/StationDiscovery ChannelReality Shows
HolidayChristmas-It's just something about Christmas lights!Christmas-I love Christmas music and decor. It makes me happy!
More About Our Family
Why we are adopting

Rashon has endometriosis and polycystic ovaries. After several surgeries, the decision was made to do a partial hysterectomy from all the scar tissue and frequent procedures. This led to her infertility. We explored surrogacy, and after several visits discovered it was not ideal for us. After discussing donor egg options with the fertility doctor, we immediately started inquiring about adoption. We did a lot of research and ultimately felt like adoption aligns with extending our family. We are so excited to be on this adoption journey to grow our family!

Plans for childcare

Rashon has a lot of flexibility in her job. She primarily works from home with non-specific work hours and will be able to provide most of the childcare during daytime hours. Rodney has a weekday off as well where he is home. We are both home on the weekends. Our parents are retired and will also help out with childcare. Rashon works for a healthcare system that provides childcare options until the child reaches school age. Day care is an option as well, and we understand children need socialization. We will carefully and thoroughly explore daycare options when it is necessary, as well as school options. We want a safe and healthy environment where our child will thrive.

Our Musical Interest

We listen to all genres. We love listening to old school R&B and dancing in the living room. We try to keep up with the latest line dances, trends, and music as well. We create and share playlists through our family plan on Apple Music. Good music always puts us in a great mood. We enjoy attending outdoor and indoor music concerts and festivals.

A Typical Weekend with Us

Since we both work during the week, we make weekend plans consistently to spend time together. Rodney is off on Fridays. We usually have a lazy Friday night where we order food to be delivered and watch our favorite shows or a good movie. We are both winding down from our week, but go out from time to time. Saturdays we sleep in a little, even though we are usually up by 7am. We either cook breakfast or go out for breakfast, then we walk around our subdivision with Tre (our dog). We might work out individually after that. Saturday is our "go with the flow" day, so we do spur of the moment errands (grocery shopping, pantry stock up, home projects). We might have events to attend for various organizations we are a part of, as well as social events. Rashon periodically works an urgent care shift on Saturday. Sunday is Rashon's selfcare day where she might go to the nail salon or brunch with friends. Rashon usually cooks Sunday dinner, and we prepare for our work week ahead. Rodney Jr goes to his mom's house on the weekends (Fri-Sun).

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn-3 months





In Closing

We are so thankful you took the time to read our adoption profile and learn more about us. We are happy to answer any additional questions you may have. Thank you for considering us to be a part of your child’s family. Please contact Lifetime if you are interested in talking with us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Call or Text us